Posted by Holy Trinity Mind Body Soul on 27th Dec 2021

Gemstones - An Overview On The Different Types

Throughout history, humans have used gemstones to add sparkle to their life. In ancient times, cultures all over the world believed that gemstones could also bring healing. People used the stones for both beauty and health. Here we will take a look at some popular gemstones and the healing benefits they're said to provide.

1. Amber Gemstones

Everybody loves amber. The gemstone is commonly found in the form of necklaces and bracelets. Historically, however, people have been using amber to cure anything from migraines to stomach aches. In some cases, it has been used to get rid of an unborn baby. In more recent years, it has been popularized as an aphrodisiac.

2. Aquamarine Gemstones

The aquamarine gemstone is often associated with love and marriage and has been used to enhance one’s physical and mental health and self-control. A famous example of this is the emerald of wisdom, which is believed to improve one’s decision-making abilities.

3. Citrine Gemstones

The most common citrine gemstone is yellow, but you can also find orange, brown and even green ones. It has long been known as the sunstone, and has been used as a protection stone. It’s also supposed to bring abundance and success.

4. Diamond Gemstones

Diamonds are a girl’s best friend. The sparkling gemstone has been a symbol of wealth, beauty and positivity for thousands of years. It’s also considered a symbol of eternal love since it’s been known as a gift given by kings to their queens. The diamond is also said to protect you from all kinds of negative energies.

5. Emerald Gemstones

Emeralds are green in colour and believed to improve one’s wisdom, quicken the thinking process and make you more confident. They’re also said to bring good health and long life.

6. Jade Gemstones

Jade has been a highly-valued gemstone throughout the history of China. It’s been used to improve one’s health and wellness. It’s also been used as a protection stone, as people believed it kept its wearer from harm.

7. Jasper Gemstones

Jasper is a gemstone that comes in all kinds of colours: red, green, yellow, brown and pink. It has been used to promote prosperity and it has been used as a fertility stone. Some ancient civilizations believed it could keep them safe from evil spirits.

8. Lapis Gemstones

Lapis comes in many different colours: dark blue, light blue, white and orange. Many ancient civilizations believed that it could be used to improve one’s intuition and psychic abilities. It’s also said to bring good fortune and wisdom.

9. Opal Gemstones

If you’ve ever owned an opal gemstone, you know: it changes colour when it’s exposed to light. In ancient times, people have used it as a telluric stone, believing it brought stability and harmony. Modern people also use it to help them sleep better.

10. Peridot Gemstones

Peridot is the gemstone of the sun. It’s also considered to be the gemstone of the mind. It’s known to improve one’s memory and it’s said to increase one’s creative powers.

11. Ruby Gemstones

Ruby gemstones are often given as a sign of love and commitment. It’s also a symbol of success and power. Some cultures also believe that a ruby gemstone can attract good luck.

12. Topaz Gemstones

Topaz comes in a wide range of colours. The gemstone is known to improve one’s mental clarity and good judgment. In some cultures, people have used topaz as a symbol of love and friendship.

13. Turquoise Gemstones

A turquoise gemstone is a symbol of wisdom, strength and rejuvenation. In the past, people have used it as a talisman to ward ills and negativity away.

We hope you found this article to be helpful. Holy Trinity Mind Body Soul is a unique online crystal and holistic store in Australia. We carry a variety of natural and tumbled stones, clusters, geodes collectable specimens, fragrances, spiritual home decor and more. Visit our online crystal shop and buy high quality gemstones today. 

Recent Posts